2014 Pete Pavia Memorial Scholarship Basketball Tournament

2014 Pete Pavia Memorial Scholarship Basketball Tournament

Monroe Community College will host the 22nd annual Pete Pavia Memorial Scholarship Basketball Tournament on Dec. 13 and 14 on Monagan Court.

Check this page all weekend for scores and stats from all the games.

Tournament Schedule

Saturday, December 13 Stats  Video 
Women: Cincinnati State 71, Jamestown 68, 3 OT Box Score  
Women: MCC 68, Monroe College 50 Box Score Video
Men: Cincinnati State 75, Mercyhurst North East 71 Box Score  
Men: MCC 77, Northern Virginia 75 Box Score Video


Sunday, December 14 Stats Video
Women: Monroe College 72, Jamestown 63 Box Score 
Women: MCC 76, Cincinnati State 47 Box Score Video
Men: Mercyhurst North East 105, Northern Virginia 99, OT  Box Score  
Men: MCC 80, Cincinnati State 75 Box Score Video


Women's All-Tournament Team
Shania Johnson - Monroe College
Samia Carter - Cincinnati State
Maura Hackney - Cincinnati State 
Tolulope Ogunrinde - Monroe Community College 
Bailey Hixson - Monroe Community College 
MVP - Tyese Purvis - Monroe Community College 


Men's All-Tournament Team
 Johnell Free - Mercyhurst
 Korey Williams - NOVA
 Deandre Hollins-Johnson - Cincinnati State
 Tremayne Hawkins - Cincinnati State
 Anthony Hemingway - Monroe
 MVP - Jayquan Ashley - Monroe


The Pete Pavia Memorial Scholarship Fund is dedicated to the memory of the late Pete Pavia, a longtime Division I basketball official from Rochester. Mr. Pavia was very active in charity efforts for Camp Good Days and Special Times. He demonstrated courage, caring, and compassion for others until he lost his battle with cancer in 1992 at the age of 54. Pete Pavia’s tradition of courage and excellence is exemplified at MCC. Each year, two scholarships are awarded in his honor to a deserving male and female from their respective basketball teams at Monroe Community College.

Chris McVicker, CEO, chairman of the Flanders Group, has been instrumental in the development of the Pete Pavia Scholarship Fund. Other major contributors include Dr. Sam Rizzo, Ken Vasile, Dr. Susan Salvador, and former MCC Athletic Director Murph Shapiro.